DRAFT Meeting Minutes SEPTEMBER 12, 2018 3:30 P.M. – 5:30 P.M. MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 7201 CORPORATE CENTER DRIVE, HANOVER, MD 21076



MEMBERS PRESENT

Louis Dubin, (Chair) John D. Barber, Jr. Carol Beatty Alice Blayne-Allard Gary Bockrath Jennifer Bodensick Steve Groenke Alvin Hathaway **Cheryl Kagan** Rona E. Kramer Sandra Kurtinitis Dawn Lindsay Roya Mohadjer Kirkland "Kirk" Murray Stephen K. Neal Lourdes R. Padilla Ronald R. Peterson (Vice Chair) Charles Ramos Edward C. Rothstein, Col Ret Lisa Rusyniak Chris Sachse Karen Salmon Marty Schwartz Charles T. Wetherington Michelle J. Wright

GWDB STAFF

Mike DiGiacomo Valerie Edwards Darla Henson Sarah Sheppard Grason Wiggins

MEMBERS ABSENT

Sam Abed Vanessa Atterbeary Michelle Bell-Smith Francis "Hall" Chaney, III Veronica A. Cool Katarina Ennerfelt James D. Fielder **Bernie Fowler** R. Michael Gill **Tony Hill** Frank Kelly Allan Kittleman Andrew B. Larson Larry Letow Carl Livesay Stephen R. Moyer Chad Nagel Alexander Núñez George W. Owings, III Kelly M. Schulz James A. Sears Gerald "Jerry" Shapiro William E. Simons

GUESTS

Jennifer Allnutt Bob Avdukovic Jordan Boward Jobina Brown Jen Cancellieri **Rich Cerkovnik** Gary Cohen **Bob Connolly Kevin Craft Emily Dow** Tara Gardner Cynthia Gurne Kimberly Hahr Alex Hauserman **Roslyn Jones** Waynette Lamorell Amie Long Mary Manzoni Sharon Markley Tom Maze Wilma Moore Kim Nichols Diana Nugent John Papagni Richard Reinhardt Phil Rogofsky Rudy Ruiz James Rzepkowski Neishall Schuyler **Bruce Spector** Lori Thomas **Tina Williams** Wilbert "Ken" Young

INTRODUCTIONS AND WELCOME OPENING REMARKS

Louis M. Dubin, Chair, Governor's Workforce Development Board (GWDB), called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. by welcoming all members to the September 2018 quarterly meeting.

Chair Dubin welcomed three new members to the Governor's Workforce Development Board, Alice Blayne-Allard, Jennifer Bodensiek, and Chad Nage.

Chair Dubin thanked former members, Gary Batey, Charles Ketner, Prenterals "PC" Price, and Matt Turpin.

Chair Dubin announced the reappointment of members, Ronald Peterson, Vice-Chair, Veronica Cool, and Tony Hill.

BOARD UPDATE:

Mike DiGiacomo, Executive Director, updated the Board on GWDB actions, including the Benchmarks of Success video, the Benchmarks of Success Communication Committee's monthly letter, the USDOL Region 2 update meeting, the \$1.98 million awarded to Maryland throught the National Health Emergency Dislocated Workers grant, and the Baltimore City Community College report.

APPROVED MOTIONS:

The GWDB approved minutes from the June 7, 2018 GWDB meeting.

PRESENTATIONS:

Jennifer Bodenseik, GWDB member, provided the Board with a presentation on Junior Achievment.

Kirk Murray, GWDB member, moderated a panel comprised of Anne Arundel County Workforce Development employees and clients. The employees and clients shared their work and experiences with the GWDB.

TASKFORCE UPDATES:

Chris Sachse, Chair of the Cybersecurity and IT Task Force, provided the Board with an update on the Task Force Chairs meeting. Moreover, Chris provided the Board with a review of the business only roundtable that included representatives from 17 businesses.

Chair Dubin recognized and thanked the Woodland Job Corps Center for their tremendous efforts.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 5:05 p.m. Next meeting December 12, 2018

Submitted by: Grason Wiggins