# **Meeting Minutes**

JUNE 14, 2017 3:30 P.M. - 5:30 P.M.

# MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 7201 CORPORATE CENTER DRIVE, HANOVER, MD 21076



# **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Louis Dubin, (Chair)

Ronald R. Peterson (Vice Chair)

Vanessa Atterbeary

**Carol Beatty** 

Michelle A. Bell-Smith

**Gary Bockrath** 

Francis "Hall" Chaney, III

Katarina Ennerfelt

Christopher M. Ensey

Steve Groenke

Alvin Hathaway

Tony Hill

Andrew B. Larson

Dawn Lindsay

Stephen R. Moyer

Kirkland "Kirk" Murray

Stephen K. Neal

Alexander Núñez

Lourdes R. Padilla

Douglas J.J. Peters

P.C. Price

**Charles Ramos** 

Edward C. Rothstein, Col Ret

Lisa Rusyniak

Kelly M. Schulz

Marty Schwartz

Gerald "Jerry" Shapiro

William E. Simons

Michelle J. Wright

# **GWDB STAFF**

Mike DiGiacomo Valerie Edwards Darla Henson Grason Wiggins

# MEMBERS ABSENT

Sam Abed

Gary Batev

Timothy R. Campbell

Adrian Chapman

Veronica A. Cool

**Chris Desauteis** 

James D. Fielder

Bernie Fowler

R. Michael Gill

Frank Kelly

Charles Ketner

Allan Kittleman

Rona E. Kramer

Sandra Kurtinitis

Larry Letow

Roya Mohadjer

George W. Owings, III

Michael J. Pantelides

Mike Posko

Karen Salmon Karen Tomasello

Matt Turpin

# **GUESTS**

Bob Aydukovic

**Shomar Braxton** 

Tom Brown

**Brandon Butler** 

Dwight Carr

**Natalie Clements** 

**Kevin Craft** 

LaSandra Diggs

**Emily Dow** 

Mike Doyle

wike boyle

Janelle Duray Judith Emmel

Christopher Falkenhagen

Dina Gordon

Kemol Guy

Anita Hammond

Ingrid Harrison

..........

Jeanne-Marie Holly

Kenneth Hopkins
Kathleen Kennedy

Tom Maze

Anna Morgan

Dan McDermott

Homer Minnick

Marsha Netus

Darlene Peregoy

David Powell

John Powers

Ed Roberts

James Rzepkowski

Chris Sachse

Elizabeth Sanders-Park

**Bret Schreiber** 

**Roland Selby** 

Jonita Shoaff

Laura Spada

Bruce Spector
Jawara Strong
Clair Watson-Minson
Alexis Walker-Lloyd
Spenser Wempe

#### INTRODUCTIONS AND WELCOME OPENING REMARKS

Louis M. Dubin, Chair, Governor's Workforce Development Board (GWDB), called the meeting to order at 3:40 p.m. by welcoming all members to the June 2017 quarterly meeting.

Secretary Kelly Schulz gave opening remarks and updated the Board on Federal actions involving apprenticeship.

#### **MOTIONS**

Jim Rzepkowski, Assistant Secretary for DLLR, presented the "Benchmarks of Success" for the Maryland workforce system to the Board. Ron Peterson, Vice-Chair, then motioned for the approval of the Benchmarks. Alvin Hathaway seconded the motion, and the Benchmarks were approved.

Louis Dubin then called for a motion to approve the minutes of the December 7, 2016, Board meeting. Alvin Hathaway motioned and Secretary Lourdes Padilla seconded the motion. The minutes were approved.

Ron Peterson then motioned to approve the minutes of the March 15, 2017, Board meeting. Alvin Hathaway seconded the motion and the minutes were approved.

Gary Bockrath then motioned to approve the Local Area Plans. Senator Douglas J.J. Peters seconded the motion, and the plans were approved.

Katarina Ennerfelt then motioned for approval of the Regional Plans. Alvin Hathaway seconded the motion, and the plans were approved.

# **BOARD UPDATE:**

Mike DiGiacomo, Executive Director, updated the Board on GWDB actions, including Taskforce formation, the Towson Workforce Summit, and NSA National Conference attendance.

### PRESENTATIONS:

Janelle Duray, Senior VP, presented on Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) and gave the Board a thorough overview of the program. Anna Morgan then presented on Delaware's Jobs for Delaware Graduates (JDG) a subsidiary of JAG. Alexis Walker-Lloyd, a participant of JDG then shared her personal story of participation within JDG.

Chris Sachse, CEO of Horsetail Technologies, then presented on Year Up, a non-profit designed to facilitate education and work experience for 18-24 years olds in the fields of Cybersecurity and IT. Jawara Strong and Kemol Guy, students and participants of Year Up shared their experiences with the Board.

Elizabeth Sanders, Consultant and Coach, presented an overview of Soft Skill Solutions and the Workplace Excellence Series to the Board. Anita Hammond of LifeBridge Health and Jonita Shoaff of Harford County then shared their experience with the Workplace Excellence Series from an administrative standpoint.

# **TASKFORCE UPDATES:**

Gary Bockrath and Katerina Ennerfelt, Co-Chairs, reported on the Advanced Manufacturing and Skilled Trades Taskforce.

Michelle Smith reported on the Changing Demographics Taskforce.

Chris Ensey and Ed Roberts, Co-Chairs, reported on the Cybersecurity and IT Taskforce.

Lara Spada, Chair, reported on the Healthcare and Life Sciences Taskforce.

Lisa Rusyniak, Chair, reported on the Marketing and Branding Taskforce.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Meeting adjourned at 5:28 p.m. Next meeting September 13, 2017

Submitted by: Grason Wiggins