Meeting Minutes

DECEMBER 13, 2017 3:30 P.M. - 5:30 P.M.

MARYALND DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 7201 CORPORATE CENTER DRIVE, HANOVER, MD 21076



MEMBERS PRESENT

Louis Dubin, (Chair) John D. Barber, Jr.

Gary Batey Carol Beatty

Michelle A. Bell-Smith

Gary Bockrath

Francis "Hall" Chaney, III

Veronica A. Cool Katarina Ennerfelt Christopher M. Ensey

Alvin Hathaway

Frank Kelly Sandra Kurtinitis

Andrew B. Larson

Dawn Lindsay Carl Livesay

Kirkland "Kirk" Murray

Lourdes R. Padilla Charles Ramos

Edward C. Rothstein, Col Ret

Lisa Rusyniak Karen Salmon Kelly M. Schulz Marty Schwartz

Gerald "Jerry" Shapiro William E. Simons

Matt Turpin

Michelle J. Wright

MEMBERS ABSENT

Sam Abed

Vanessa Atterbeary Adrian Chapman James D. Fielder Bernie Fowler R. Michael Gill Steve Groenke

Tony Hill

Charles Ketner Allan Kittleman Rona E. Kramer Larry Letow Roya Mohadjer Stephen R. Moyer

Stephen K. Neal Alexander Núñez George W. Owings, III Michael J. Pantelides

Douglas J.J. Peters

Ronald R. Peterson (Vice Chair)

Mike Posko P.C. Price

Charles T. Wetherington

GUESTS Jennifer Ashley Bob Aydukovic Karen Baxter Steve Blanks Jobina Brown Ambali Busari Brandon Butler Jen Cancellieri **Dwight Carr** Rich Cerkovnik **Paul Champion** Gary Cohen Eric Collins **Bob Connolly Kevin Craft** Judith Emmel Bruce England Bonnie Glick Ross Goldstein Jennifer Gregory Cynthia Gurne

Kimberly Hahr Mansur Hasib Franz Henggeler Ann Kellogg Mary Kendall Pam Klahr Mac MacLure Sharon Markley Tom Maze

Ken Mc Creedy Dave McGlone Mark Miraglia Steve Morrill Marsha Netus

Phil Nichols

GWDB STAFF

Mike DiGiacomo Valerie Edwards Darla Henson Grason Wiggins Denise Nooe David Powell

Cassandra Richardson

Ed Roberts

Scott Robertson Tamara Robinson Phil Rogofsky Corinne Roller

Erin Roth Kevin Rudolph James Rzepkowski Monica Schaeffer Michael Shriver

Richard Sien

Nicholette Smith-Blrgen

Laura Spada Bruce Spector Lili Taylor David Tohn

Walt Townshend Norman Turner

Britta Vander-Linden

Ricky Venters

INTRODUCTIONS AND WELCOME OPENING REMARKS

Louis M. Dubin, Chair, Governor's Workforce Development Board (GWDB), called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. by welcoming all members to the December 2017 quarterly meeting.

Louis M. Dubin, Chair, welcomed two new members to the Governor's Workforce Development Board. Mr. Carl Livesay and Mr. Charles Wetherington.

BOARD UPDATE:

Mike DiGiacomo, Executive Director, updated the Board on GWDB actions, including an overview of Executive Order 01.01.2017.27 Computer Science Education and Professional Development issued by Governor Hogan, the new meeting schedule, Benchmarks of Success, and State Plan revisions.

Secretary Kelly M. Schulz, Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation, updated the Board on Governor Hogan's plans for the future.

PRESENTATIONS:

Ross Goldstein presented an overview of SB 317 and the processes involved with meeting the mandated

legislative goals.

Jobina Brown and Norman Turner provided the Board with an overview of the Woodland Job Corp. Center

and the great work being conducted.

Richard Sien, Partner at Bluewater Advisory, gave a presentation to the Board on "Recruting a Qualified

Workforce."

TASKFORCE UPDATES:

Gary Bockrath, reported on the Advanced Manufacturing and Skilled Trades Taskforce. A brief video clip

was shown to the Board that centered on the importance of skilled trades in the workforce.

Veronica Cool and Michelle Bell reported on the Changing Demographics Taskforce. Governor's Citations

were awarded to representatives of five companies.

Lisa Rusyniak reported on the Marketing and Branding Taskforce.

Chris Ensey and Ed Roberts, Co-Chairs, reported on the Cybersecurity and IT Taskforce. Their report

included an overview of the Taskforce's work on the report mandated by Executive Order 01.01.2017.27

Computer Science Education and Professional Development, issued by Governor Hogan.

Marty Schwartz, member of the Governor's Workforce Development Board, gave a presentation on

Vehicles for Change and provided a brief video clip on the work being done at Vehicles for Change.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

Next meeting March 14, 2018

Submitted by:

Grason Wiggins